A Top Rated Minneapolis Property Crime Attorney
There are many acts that can be classified as theft according to Minnesota statute. A person can be charged with theft if they:
- Intentionally, and without claim of right, take, use, transfer, conceal or retains possession of movable property of another without the other’s consent and with intent to deprive the owner permanently of possession of the property; or
- With or without having a legal interest in movable property, intentionally and without consent, takes the property out of the possession of a pledgee or other person having a superior right of possession, with intent thereby to deprive that person permanently of possession of that property; or
- Obtains services by false representation
- By swindling, whether by artifice, trick, device, or any other means, obtains property or services from another person; or
- Find property and fail to make a reasonable effort to rind the owner and offer and surrender the property to the owner
- Intentionally converts any article representing a trade secret, knowing it to be such, to the actor’s own use or that of another person and makes a copy of an article representing a trade secret and converts it to the actors own use.
- Steal cable
- Use corporate property for something other than business purposes
Powerful Theft of Moveable Property Lawyers
The charge of theft ranges in severity from a misdemeanor to a felony. The severity of the charge will depend upon the facts and circumstances of the case and the value of the property or services allegedly taken. The most serious theft offenses are felony offenses and are punishable by imprisonment for not more than 20 years and to a payment of a fine of up to $100,000. These include offenses where the stolen property or services is valued at $5000-$35,000, the property is a firearm, or the property is a trade secret or explosive.
If the property is valued at $1000 – $5000, a person can face up to five years in prison and fines of up to $10,000 as well as a felony on their criminal history.
A person can be charged with gross misdemeanor theft if the value of the property or services stolen is between $500 – $1000. This carries a potential sentence of up to one year I jail and/or $3000 in fines.
A misdemeanor theft charge occurs when a person takes property or services valued at less than $500. The offense is punishable by up to 90 days in jail and fines of up to $1000.
But, by far, one of the most onerous things about a theft charge is a possible theft conviction on your record. Even a misdemeanor theft conviction can seriously impact one’s employment status and opportunities.
There are many defenses to theft and there are many exceptions to these consequences. If you are charged with a theft offense, you should contact an experienced and result-driven local Minnesota theft attorney immediately like Ms. Campoli.
Together we will discuss your case, the possible defenses, and the best strategy to protect your record and your freedom. Contact our Minneapolis criminal attorneys or our lawyers in Edina today.
Contact Our Minneapolis Theft Defense Lawyer for Legal Support
Property crimes include theft of movable property and illegal possession of or intentionally taking, using, transferring, concealing or retaining possession without the claim of right or consent and with intent to deprive the owner permanently of the said property. Let our property crime attorney help you deal with the legal complexities. Call The Law Office of Lauren Campoli on 612-810-0060 for a confidential consultation with our experienced Minneapolis property crime attorney.